British Way of Teaching and Learning

We offer students a student-centric educational experience.

For example, the Year 1 programme at SBC is designed not only to dramatically improve communicative English but also to provide an intensive conversion experience to the British education system, which is essentially student-centric and focuses on developing critical skills. Year 2 to 4 follow UK University curriculums.

By student-centric we mean a shift away from reliance on and adherence to the teacher and a focus on guidance from teachers and methods of developing students who are capable of learning more on their own. This is vital in order to prepare students for the world of the 21st century where rapid change requires that everyone has the skills to continue learning. This life-long learning approach is dependent on individuals relying on their own efforts to learn new things.

Many parents, used to the old-style Chinese university system, are often surprised that the students spend less time in the classroom. This is a deliberate policy whereby students are encouraged to develop new knowledge and methods introduced in the classroom and then develop these further in the library and indeed in projects on campus and off the campus such as voluntary programmes.

In this way teachers are much more facilitators and mentors in the learning process rather than the fount of all knowledge. The result we hope to achieve, in terms of output, is to have students who can meet all the accepted measures of excellence in degree results but to also emerge as much more rounded, confident, flexible self-learners, internationally minded and socially responsible citizens who can help China better understand the world and the world better understand China.

英式教学方法


中英国际学院的教育宗旨是一切以学生为中心。

例如,大一阶段的教学,不单单是提高学生的英语语言能力,更重要的是从各个方面帮助学生尽快适应英式教学环境以学生为中心,提高其自主学习能力和批判思维能力。大二大四阶段的教学,均按英国大学课程体系进行

以学生为中心的教学方式,重点在于在教师的指导下,培养学生的自主学习能力,成为学习的主导者。面对发展瞬息万变的21世纪,能否不断吸收新知识,学习新技术成为个人发展进步的关键。而拥有自主学习能力正是顺应了信息时代的潮流,也是个人终身学习发展的保证。

对于习惯了国内大学教育方式的许多中国家长来说,或多或少会惊讶于中英国际学院相对较少的课堂教学时间。这正是学院所倡导的英式教学特色之一。学院鼓励学生根据课堂所学,提出新观点,找出新方法,继而利用图书馆的资源、校和校外活动(志愿活动)进一步完善和实践自己所学知识。

在以学生为中心的教学过程中,教师不再是所有知识的唯一来源,他们的主要责任是指导和协助学生进行自主学习。学院致力于把学生培养成学术成绩优异、全面发展、自信、适应力强和有自主学习能力的人才。我们期望中英国际学院学生能凭借自己的国际化视野和社会责任感精神,促进中国与不同国家和文化间的相互沟通与交流。