Academic Excellence

Academic excellence in teaching and learning in the UK is measured through a national quality assurance system. In Years 1 and 2, UK quality assurance is provided by special committees of the Northern Consortium whereby members of staff from the NCUK nine universities evaluate annually the feedback from students and staff regarding the design, delivery and results of the programmes.

This is all based on NCUK successfully providing a quality assured Year 1 for 25 years, recognised and approved by eleven leading universities. In addition, Year 2 at SBC is quality assured by nine universities and delivers the only consortium-based Common Year 1 of a UK degree accepted by all the nine partner universities of SBC. Two of SBC’s partners have won the Times Higher UK University of the Year Award (Sheffield 2011 and Huddersfield 2013) and all the universities have passed all national quality assurance inspections.

In 2012, the UK Quality Assurance Agency (QAA) inspected all programmes at SBC and a case study is now on their website, offering SBC as a model offshore degree delivery institution.

SBC programmes are therefore subject to continuous evaluation by a UK national body, the QAA, and the partner universities to ensure that the internationally-recognised UK standards are met. SBC is also subject to annual inspection by the host university, USST, through visits and student questionnaires. In addition, it is subject to inspections by the Shanghai Municipal Education Commission and designated committees. SBC has passed all inspections and SBC enjoys an excellent reputation in Shanghai, in China and internationally. However, SBC is committed to quality enhancement and has rigorous systems in place to ensure this can be demonstrated for the benefit of its students.

Academic excellence goes beyond classroom teaching and SBC has an international administrative team and a student management team seconded from USST to ensure that the students have all-round excellent support. We have an excellent careers centre, providing mentoring and training and also the quality of our graduates by the very high rate of employment and postgraduate study with international companies and at international universities.

一流学术

英国教育拥有一套成熟全面的学术教学质量保障体系,各学校和各专业课程均需接受严格的质量考核,以保证高水准教学的顺利进行。中英国际学院大一和大二的教学质量受英国北方大学联盟(NCUK)各职能委员会监督。委员会成员分别来自英国北方大学联盟内SBC的九所英国成员大学。委员会每年从课程设置、教学大纲设计、教学实施和考试成绩等方面检查并核查学院的教学情况,结合学生和教师提出的反馈意见进行综合评估。

英国北方大学联盟提供的大一年级课程体系已有25年历史,其优质教学水平受到其11所英国知名成员大学的高度认可。此外,SBC大二年级(即英国大学的大一年级)的课程设置受其九所英方成员大学的质量监督。事实上,中英国际学院的两所英方成员大学都曾荣获英国泰晤士高等教育年度最佳大学的称号(2011年,谢菲尔德大学;2013年,哈德斯菲尔德大学)。同时,所有的英方成员大学都已通过全英教学质量保障评估。

2012年,中英国际学院的所有专业课程均接受了英国高等教育质量保障局(QAA)的评估。根据这次评估的结果,中英国际学院被其评为英国大学海外办学的成功典范,具体评估结果被公布在其官网上。

学院的所有专业课程的教学活动将继续定期接受QAA的严格评估。此项评估旨在对每所院校的课程整体质量和教学方式进行审核,并对每一个专业领域的学术标准和教学质量进行评审,保证英国大学在全球范围内开展的高等教育均具有一流的教学质量。同时,英国相关授位大学每年以考察访问和学生问卷的形式,对中英国际学院的教学质量进行评估。此外,中国教育相关部门亦对中英国际学院进行办学质量监督,并对学院开展的优质国际化办学给予了高度认可。

一流学术教学不仅仅局限于课堂教学,还体现在学院行政管理的方方面面。中英国际学院拥有一支国际化的行政管理团队,尤其是辅导员团队,为学生提供优质全面的服务支持。学院还拥有极其专业的职业服务与发展中心,为学生量身定制就业咨询和培训服务。学院培养的高素质国际化人才,得到了各国际知名企业和高校的青睐。